The 2023 edition of the Tour de Romandie concluded in Geneva with a Colombian victory in the closing segment, to the account of sprinter Fernando Gaviria (Movistar-Team); while the British Adam Yates (UAE Team Emirates) became champion of the general classification.

On the final day, between Vufflens la Ville and Genève, over 170.8 kilometers, everything indicated that it would be ideal for sprinters, who were able to pass a couple of cols. In the final kilometres, the breakaway of three riders (Geoffrey Bouchard, Sebastien Reichenbach and Arthur Kluckers) remained 20 seconds behind the peloton, but with only three kilometers to go the peloton caught up with them.

It was then that the packers were in charge of going forward, with their blocks or teams to aspire for the victory. Fernando Gaviria attacked with 400 meters to go and took the victory with immense superiority, ahead of the German Nikias Arndt (Bahrain – Victorious) and the British Ethan Hayter (Ineos Grenadiers), second and third, respectively.

“It’s been a really tough day. On the climbs he went very fast and I lost some rhythm, but I did everything I could to stay close, the guys supported me to get back in and I did my best to return the favor and deliver this victory to the team”, Gaviria said in statements collected by the telephone group.

Regarding the general classification, there were no important changes. Thus, Adam Yates (UAE Team Emirates) took the overall title, accompanied by American Matteo Jorgenson (Movistar) and Italian Damiano Caruso (Bahrain Victorious), in that order.

Most significant was the eighth place in the individual overall for Colombian Egan Bernal (Ineos Grenadiers), who seems to be fully recovered for his main commitments this season. “It has been my best competition since I returned from the accident,” said the Colombian to his followers on social networks.

Tour de Romandie 2023 (2.UWT)

Results stage 5 | Vufflens-la-Ville – Geneva (170.8 km)

1 Fernando Gaviria Movistar Team 3:58:01

2 Nikias Arndt Bahrain – Victorious ,,

3 Ethan Hayter INEOS Grenadiers ,,

4 Milan Menten Lotto Dstny ,,

5 Gianmarco Garofoli Astana Qazaqstan Team ,,

6 Luca Mozzato Team Arkéa Samsic ,,

7 Lewis Askey Groupama – FDJ ,,

Final General Classification

1 Adam Yates UAE Team Emirates 17:12:42

2 Matteo Jorgenson Movistar Team 0:19

3 Damiano Caruso Bahrain – Victorious 0:27

4 Max Poole Team DSM 0:38

5 Thibaut Pinot Groupama – FDJ 0:41

6 Cyan Uijtdebroeks BORA – hansgrohe 1:21

7 Romain Bardet Team DSM 1:28

8 Egan Bernal INEOS Grenadiers 1:53

Fuente: Revista Mundo Ciclistítco