In a timed finish, Rodrigo Contreras (Nu Colombia) emerged victorious in the final stage and won the Tour of Colombia UCI 2.2 title on Sunday after the ninth and final stage, a 17.3-kilometer individual time trial between the EPM Intelligent Building in Medellín and the 2nd category prize at Alto de Las Palmas.

The time trial was won by Contreras with a time of 40:53. The duel was with Diego Camargo (Forte Petrolike – Androni Giocattoli) whom he beat by more than a minute. Third came Wilson Peña (Team Sistecrédito), in a mirror of the final podium.

A historic stage for Colombian cycling that lived a real party along the last route in the iconic port of Antioquia cycling, scene of a fantastic conclusion of the 74th edition of the Colombian round.

The rider from Cundinamarca, who took the lead from the prologue, finally became the champion of the race. Diego Camargo (Forte Petrolike – Androni Giocattoli) was 2nd and Wilson Peña (Team Sistecrédito) 3rd.

Contreras, who succeeded Miguel Ángel López, became the fifth rider in the history of the Vuelta a Colombia to wear the leader’s jersey from the first stage to the last day.

The champion of the U-23 category was José Misael Urián of Team Sistecrédito, who finished 19th in the CRI disputed this Sunday.

The team champions were the Mexicans of Team Petrolike, who managed to put three of their riders in the Top 10 overall, in which Diego Camargo was runner-up; Cristian Rico finished sixth, and Édgar Cadena was seventh.

In the individual classifications, the champions were: Yesid Pira (Alcaldía de Manizales 100% Huevos) who was crowned in the mountains; Johan Colón (Orgullo Paisa) in the special sprint, and Rodrigo Contreras (NU Colombia) in the points classification. Jonathan Chaves (NU Colombia) received the Combativity jersey, after being the rider who was in the hot seat the longest.

Tour of Colombia (2.2)
Results Stage 9 (CRI) | Envigado – Alto de Las Palmas (17,3km)

1Rodrigo ContrerasNu Colombia40:53
2Diego CamargoForte Petrolike – Androni Giocattoli1:05
3Wilson PeñaTeam Sistecrédito2:06
4David CadenaForte Petrolike – Androni Giocattoli2:09
5Yesid PiraAlcaldía de Manizales – 100% Huevos2:14
6Jhonatan ChavesNu Colombia2:25
7Walter VargasTeam Medellín-EPM2:42
8Cristian RicoForte Petrolike – Androni Giocattoli3:05
9Julián CardonaTeam Medellín-EPM3:33
10Brayan SánchezTeam Medellín-EPM3:35

Ranking General

1Rodrigo ContrerasNu Colombia31:35:34
2Diego CamargoForte Petrolike – Androni Giocattoli2:59
3Wilson PeñaTeam Sistecrédito3:42
4Yesid PiraAlcaldía de Manizales – 100% Huevos6:10
5Javier JamaicaTeam Medellín-EPM7:56
6Cristian RicoForte Petrolike – Androni Giocattoli8:10
7David CadenaForte Petrolike – Androni Giocattoli9:10
8Robinson LópezGW Erco Shimano9:33
9Adrián BustamanteGW Erco Shimano9:34
10Jose Misael UriánTeam Sistecrédito12:16

Source: Revista Mundo Ciclístico