Breakaway success! Simon Carr (EF Education – EasyPost) won the fourth stage of the Tour of the Alps 2024, on a 141.3-kilometer route starting in Leifers/Laives and finishing in Borgo Valsugana. Spaniard Juanpe Lopez (Lidl-Trek) remains the overall leader, with just one day to go.

The British rider, who was the strongest of the breakaway, soloed to the finish ahead of Australians Michael Storer (Tudor Pro Cycling Team) and Ben O’Connor (Decathlon AG2R La Mondiale Team), second and third respectively.

As for the Colombians, Esteban Chaves (EF Education – EasyPost) was the best of our team in 13th place, 2:19 behind the winner, while Sergio Higuita (Bora-Hansgrohe) was 14th and Ivan Ramiro Sosa (Movistar Team) 15th, both 2:55 behind Carr.

The numerous breakaway of the day was composed by Sergio Higuita (BORA – hansgrohe), who was accompanied by Simon Carr (EF Education-EasyPost), Gregor Mühlberger (Movistar Team), Davide Piganzoli (Team Polti Kometa), Hugh Carthy (EF Education – EasyPost), Luca Covili (VF Group – Bardiani CSF – Faizanè), Gijs Leemreize (Team dsm-firmenich PostNL), Oscar Rodriguez (INEOS Grenadiers) and Mattia Bais (Team Polti Kometa).

EF Education-EasyPost’s Simon Carr (EF Education-EasyPost) went first through the first category mountain prize at the Passo del Vetriolo, where Iván Ramiro Sosa (Movistar Team) was reported 5th. In the end nobody could catch the British rider, who achieved his second victory of the season after his triumph in the Trofeo Calvià.

This Friday will end the 47th edition of the Tour of the Alps with the fifth and final stage, which will start and finish in Levico Terme, on a 118.6-kilometer route, which includes two first-category mountain prizes.

Tour of the Alps 2024 (2.Pro)
Results Stege 4 | Leifers/Laives – Borgo Valsugana (141,3 km)

1 Simon CarrEF Education – EasyPost4:06:27
2 Michael StorerTudor Pro Cycling Team1:19
3 Ben O’ConnorDecathlon AG2R La Mondiale Team,,
4 Wout PoelsBahrain – Victorious1:22
5 Valentin Paret-PeintreDecathlon AG2R La Mondiale Team,,
6 Antonio TiberiBahrain – Victorious,,
7 Romain BardetTeam dsm-firmenich PostNL,,
8 Juan Pedro LópezLidl – Trek,,
9 Giulio PellizzariVF Group – Bardiani CSF – Faizanè2:19
10 Georg SteinhauserEF Education – EasyPost,,

Ranking General

1 Juan Pedro LópezLidl – Trek15:30:23
2 Ben O’ConnorDecathlon AG2R La Mondiale Team0:38
3 Antonio TiberiBahrain – Victorious0:48
4 Wout PoelsBahrain – Victorious,,
5 Romain BardetTeam dsm-firmenich PostNL,,
6 Valentin Paret-PeintreDecathlon AG2R La Mondiale Team,,
7 Michael StorerTudor Pro Cycling Team1:40
8 Giulio PellizzariVF Group – Bardiani CSF – Faizanè1:54
9 Iván Ramiro SosaMovistar Team2:52
10 Davide PiganzoliTeam Polti Kometa2:58

Source: Revista Mundo Ciclístico