The Tour of the Basque Country 2024 kicked off on Spanish soil. The first stage of the competition, which runs from April 1 to 6, featured a 10-kilometer individual time trial.

At the start of the day when there was the expectation of who would be the winner of the time trial, taking into account the presence of several of the main capes of the World Tour as Jonas Vingegaard, Remco Evenepoel, Juan Ayusso and Primoz Roglic.

On the Colombian side, Rigoberto Urán, Brandon Rivera, Santiago Buitrago and Esteban Chaves were present. The absences of the Colombian riders were Egan Bernal and Nairo Quintana, who were dropped from the Movistar and Ineos rosters in the last days.

The day began with a remarkable average for the Europeans. As expected, Primoz Roglic (Bora Hasgrohe) champion of the 2021 edition, began to place himself in the classification with a time of 12:34 and an average speed of almost 50 kilometers per hour.

In the race the Slovenian rider had a great performance and even caught the rider who started ahead of him. The Australian Jay Vine (UAE Team) was close to take the first place, but ended up being second by a difference of 7 seconds. The third place on the podium was completed by Mattias Skjelmose (Lidl Trek) at 10 seconds.

Santiago Buitrago was the best of the Colombian riders. The Bahrain Victorius rider was 14th, 24 seconds behind the winner. Brandon Rivera was 23rd at 32 seconds and Rigoberto Urán 54th at 49”.

The second day will take place this Tuesday between the towns of Irun and Kanbo with the idea of riding 160 kilometers to the finish. A stage in which there may be movements in general.

Tour of the Basque Country 2024: classification of stage 1

1. Primoz Roglic (Bora-Hansgrohe): 12:34 minutes

2. Jay Vine (UAE Emirates): 0:07 seconds back

3. Mattias Skjelmose (Lidl-Trek): 0:10 seconds back

4. Remco Evenepoel (Quick-Step): 0:11 seconds back

5. Jonas Vingegaard (Visma-Lease a Bike): 0:15 seconds back