The fifth stage of the Vuelta Ciclista del Uruguay 2024 arrived this Monday to Tacuarembó capital, where the main peloton arrived to define and the national road champion Leonel Rodríguez (Cerro Largo) won in the final sprint, after 121.1 kilometers of competition along route 26 from the town of Caraguatá.

The second fastest of the day was Roderyck Asconeguy (Audax de Flores) and Héctor Fabián Aguilar (Alas Rojas de Santa Lucía) completed the podium. Fourth was Matías Presa (Cerro Largo) and fifth was the gold medalist.

The favorites all arrived together and there were no significant changes in the overall individual classification, which continues to be led by Brazilian Kleber Ramos (UniFunvic). He is followed at 19” by the Argentinean Alejandro Quilci of Cerro Largo and at 46” by Mateo Mascarañas of Náutico de Boca del Cufré.

As for the general classification, Brazilian Kléber Ramos (Unifunvic Pindamondangadaba), who took the lead on the second day, came in 5th position with the same time as the day’s winner. He is followed at 19 seconds by the Argentinean Alejandro Quilci of Cerro Largo and at 46 seconds by the Uruguayan Mateo Mascarañas of Náutico de Boca del Cufré.

Tomorrow’s sixth stage is one of the longest of this edition of the traditional Tourism Week race: 195 kilometers along routes 26 and 3 from Tacuarembó to Paysandú, in the run-up to the individual time trial, which will shake up the individual general classification and reduce the group of favorites to be crowned next Sunday on the promenade of Montevideo.

Tour of Uruguay 2024
Results Stage 5 | Caraguata -> Tacuarembó (121,1 km)

1Diego Leonel RodríguezClub Ciclista Cerro Largo2:39:50
2Roderyck AsconeguyAudax de Floresm.t.
3Héctor AguilarAlas Rojas de Santa Luciam.t.
4Alan Matías PresaClub Ciclista Cerro Largom.t.
5Kleber Silva Unifunvic Pindamondangadabam.t.
6Cristhian GutiérrezArmonía CCm.t.
7Juan CaorsiArmonía CCm.t.
8Robert MullerManí Zabala-M.Albardonm.t.
9Agustín TorresCNP Bocas del Cufrém.t.
10Antonio ViollazArmonía CCm.t.

Ranking General

1Kleber Silva Unifunvic Pindamondangadaba16:15:21
2Alejandro QuilciClub Ciclista Cerro Largo0:19
3 Mateo MascarañasClub Náutico de Boca Cufré0:46
4Samuel MoralesClub Náutico de Boca Cufré0:50
5Roderyck AsconeguyAudax de Flores0:59

Source: Revista Mundo Ciclístico