In a very fast finish, Venezuelan Orluis Aular (Caja Rural – Seguros RGA) came in second behind Romain Gregoire (Groupama-FDJ) in the fifth stage of the Vuelta al País Vasco 2024, contested over 175.9 kilometers between Vitoria-Gasteiz and Amorebieta-Etxano. However, Scandinavian Mattias Skjelmose (lidl-Trek) remained the leader.

After about 70 kilometers of racing, the peloton was surprised by another crash. This time it was Spaniard Mikel Landa (Soudal-Quick Step), who crashed hard to the ground. His teammate Gil Gelders and two Movistar men, Pelayo Sanchez and Gonzalo Serrano, also had to abandon the race.

The first climb of the day provoked the first attacks. American Sepp Kuss (Visma | Lease a Bike) decided to test his legs alongside Mexican Isaac del Toro (UAE Team Emirates). The duo stayed a few minutes ahead of the peloton, but finally could not consolidate this difference on the descent and were chased by the group of favorites.

In the closing, Santiago Buitrago (Bahrain – Victorious) was very active and tried several times, however, failed to distance himself and in the end everything was defined by the sprint in which the Frenchman Romain Gregoire (Groupama-FDJ) achieved his first victory as a professional.

This Saturday, April 6, the sixth and last stage of the Itzulia will be held, starting and finishing in Eibar, on a 137.8 kilometers route on undulating terrain, where we will know the successor of the Danish Jonas Vingegaard, last year’s champion.

Itzulia Basque Country 2024 (2.UWT)
Results Stage 5 | Vitoria-Gasteiz – Amorebieta-Etxano (175, 9 km)

1 Romain GrégoireGroupama – FDJ3:43:28
2Orluis AularCaja Rural – Seguros RGA,,
3 Maximilian SchachmannBORA – hansgrohe,,
4 Quentin PacherGroupama – FDJ,,
5 Alex AranburuMovistar Team,,
6 Santiago BuitragoBahrain – Victorious,,
7 Pello BilbaoBahrain – Victorious,,
8 Damien HowsonQ36.5 Pro Cycling Team,,
9 Samuele BattistellaAstana Qazaqstan Team,,
10 Carlos RodríguezINEOS Grenadiers,,

Ranking General

1 Mattias SkjelmoseLidl – Trek12:19:39
2 Maximilian SchachmannBORA – hansgrohe0:02
3 Juan AyusoUAE Team Emirates0:04
4 Kévin VauquelinArkéa – B&B Hotels0:06
5 Romain GrégoireGroupama – FDJ0:08
6 Brandon McNultyUAE Team Emirates0:13
7 Bruno ArmirailDecathlon AG2R La Mondiale Team0:14
8 Pello BilbaoBahrain – Victorious0:15
9 Alex AranburuMovistar Team0:23
10 Jordan JegatTotalEnergies0:30

Source: Revista Mundo Ciclístico