In an uphill finish, the Ecuadorian Jonathan Caicedo (Forte Petrolike – Androni Giocattoli) took the victory in the second fraction, after 173.5 kilometers between San Lucas Sacatepéquez and Totonicapán. In the final kilometers, Daniel Méndez (Nu Colombia) was crossed by a person, which caused him to fall and prevented him from reaching the lead.

The experienced South American rider, 31 years old, was the strongest in the final part and crossed the finish line first, with a time of 4:29:08″. Second was Julián Cardona (Team Medellín-EPM) and third was Ecuadorian Byron Guama (Movistar Best-PC).

The fraction plagued with mountains started with a peloton of 111 riders (31 Escarabajos), who initially faced 7 categorized passes, but this demanding route was not an impediment for several riders to venture into the breakaway.

Precisely, the breakaway of the day was led by the Colombian Daniel Arroyave (GW Erco Shimano) and the Panamanians of the Panama es Cultura y Valores team: Bolivar Espinoza and Felipe Chan, however, the trio was captured by the peloton in the final phase of the day.

As for the general classification, there were important changes. Now Jonathan Caicedo (Forte Petrolike – Androni Giocattoli) is in the lead, escorted by Colombians Daniel Méndez (Nu Colombia) and Julián Cardona (Team Medellín-EPM).

This Friday, May 3, the third stage of the Chapin round will be disputed, which will take the cyclists from Momostenango to San Pedro Sacatepéquez along 101.8 kilometers with five mountain prizes, in addition to a high finish of fourth category. The successor of the Spanish Óscar Sevilla, last year’s champion, will be announced on Sunday in Quetzaltenango (Guatemala).

Vuelta Bantrab (2.2)
Results Stage 2 | San Lucas Sacatepéquez – Totonicapán (173,5 km)

1Jonathan Caicedo *EcuadorForte Petrolike – Androni Giocattoli4:29:08
2Julián Cardona *ColombiaTeam Medellín-EPM0:18
3Byron Guama *EcuadorMovistar-Best PC0:20
4Daniel Méndez *ColombiaNu Colombia0:37
5Bernardo Suaza *ColombiaForte Petrolike – Androni Giocattoli0:00
6Sergio Henao *ColombiaNu Colombia2:21
7Richard Huera *EcuadorMovistar-Best PC2:21
8Javier Jamaica*ColombiaTeam Medellín-EPM2:21
9Hernán Aguirre *ColombiaForte Petrolike – Androni Giocattoli2:21
10Alex Julajuj *GuatemalaRed Hook Guatemala2:21

Source: Revista Mundo Ciclístico