The Guatemalan Cycling Federation made official the route of the 60 Vuelta Ciclista a Guatemala, which will take place from October 23 to November 1, 2020.

For this edition, the Federation will implement strict security protocols to prevent the spread of coronavirus, including departures and arrivals in places distant from departmental capitals, social distancing and limited access of people to meeting points.

In total, 25 mountain prizes and the same number of flyer goals will be contested.

The official route is:

I stage (23 October) | 148 kms – Esquipulas – Guastatoya.

II stage (October 24) | 147.5 kms – Jalapa (Monjas) – Barberena

III stage (October 25) | 218 kms – Guatemala – Coatepeque.

Stage IV (October 26) | 43 kms – Champerico – Retalhuleu (Individual Time Trial)

Stage V (October 27) 91 kms – Suchitepéquez – Quetzaltenango (Cerro El Baúl)

VI stage (October 28) 106 kms – Totonicapán – San Marcos (Esquipulas, Palo Gordo)

VII stage (October 29) 101 kms – San Marcos (Tejutla) – Sololá (Santa Catarina Ixtahuacán)

Stage VIII (October 30) 90 kms – Sololá (San Pablo La Laguna) – Tecpán (Iximché Ruins)

XI stage (October 31) 139 kms – Chimaltenango (Santa Apolonia) – Chimaltenango (Aldea Chuchucá Alto, Altos de Patzún)

X stage (November 1) 105 kms – Capital city, Peripheral Ring Circuit.


Decorabaños as three-time champion of the national tour leads the list of domestic teams, in addition to: Hino-One-La Red, Army of Guatemala, Deluxe Optics, the Departmental Cycling Associations of Chimaltenango, Quetzaltenango, Sololá, San Marcos and Quiché.

Team Medellín from Colombia, Best PC from Ecuador, Canels Pro Cycling from Mexico, Selection from Panama and DICAFRIEM from Mexico, are the foreign teams.


The International Cycling Union appointed the UCI International Commissioner, Iverson Ladewig from Brazil as director, Commissioner 2 will be Ismael Fuentes from Puerto Rico, and the third commissioner will be Josué Esquit from the Departmental Head of Chimaltenango.