SAN JUAN, ARGENTINA. French cyclist Julian Alaphilippe (Deceuninck-Quick Step) has won the third stage of the 37th edition of the Vuelta a San Juan Internacional, a 12-kilometer individual time trial held on Tuesday on a completely flat track with start and finish in the city of Pocito.

After the exhibition he gave in the previous day with the victory in the mid-mountain of Peri Largo Punta Negra, Alaphilippe showed his good form again with another victory in the Pocito time trial that also gives him the leader’s jersey of the Return to San Juan.

The Belgian Deceunick-Quick Step rider achieved his second victory of 2019 by winning the 12km Pocito time trial with 12 seconds over Italian Valerio Conti and his team mate, Belgian Remco Evenepoel, who was one of the favorites to climb to the top at this stage.

The time that Alaphilippe scored in goal, 13 minutes and 41 seconds, shows the good time in which the Frenchman lives in this beginning of a season that seems promising for his team and also for him, since he is one of the most Respected from the peloton and favorite in many pools for big races.

The Colombian Fernando Gaviria (UAE Team Emirates), who wore the leader’s jersey the first two days, lost it to be sixth in the stage but is second in the general to 18 seconds.

The Argentine Laureano Rosas, from the Civil Association Mardan team and champion of the Vuelta a San Juan in 2014, 2015 and 2016, made a good time trial and slipped into the ninth position of the stage 30 seconds behind the winner and ahead of Óscar Sevilla (Medellín) and Nairo Quintana (Movistar).

The fourth stage of the Vuelta a San Juan takes place between San José de Jáchal and Villa San Agustín, on a route of 185.8 kilometers that you will have two ports of first category and another third. (EFE)


1. Julian Alaphilippe (FRA/Deceuninck-Quick Step) 00:13:41
2. Valerio Conti (ITA/UAE Emirates) +00:00:12
3. Remco Evenepoel (BEL/Deceuninck-Quick Step) +00:00:12
4. Felix Grossschartner (AUT/Bora-Hansgrohe) +00:00:16
5. Winner Anacona (COL/Movistar) +00:00:16
6. Fernando Gaviria (COL/UAE Emirates) +00:00:21
7. Peter Sagan (SVK/Bora-Hansgrohe) +00:00:26
8. Tom Bohli (SUI/UAE Emirates) +00:0:26
9. Laureano Rosas (ARG/Asociación Civil Mardan) +00:00:30
10. ÓSCAR SEVILLA (ESP/Medellín) +00:00:31


1. Julian Alaphilippe (FRA/Deceuninck-Quick Step) 07:15:16
2. Fernando Gaviria (COL/UAE Emirates) +00:00:18
3. Valerio Conti (ITA/UAE Emirates) +00:00:22
4. Remco Evenepoel (BEL/Deceuninck-Quick Step) +00:00:22
5. Felix Grossschartner (AUT/Bora-Hansgrohe) +00:00:26
6. Winner Anacona (COL/MOVISTAR) +00:00:26
7. Peter Sagan (SVK/Bora-Hansgrohe) +00:00:32
8. Laureano Rosas (ARG/Asociación Civil Mardan) +00:00:40
9. ÓSCAR SEVILLA (ESP/Medellín) +00:00:41
10. Simone Consonni (ITA/UAE Emirates) 00:00:44